User Options

Choose Language

Select a School

Return to Headlines

19 AHS Students Named National Merit Finalists

AHS Merit Finalists

Nineteen Allen High School students have been named National Merit Finalists and will be eligible to compete for more than $32 million in scholarships offered in the spring.

The recognition is based on scores on the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test.

The finalists are:

Faraaz Azam
Charles Bui
Sammy Chien
Gage Clow
Anyang Ding
Lydia Guo
Madison Jarboe
Arjun Khurana
Joseph Kim
Kayli McGlothlin
Andrea Meier
Elizabeth Miller
Jessica Nguyen
Jessica Randolph
Brittany Russell
Jack Su
Kenzie Tommaney
Anmei Zeng
Grace Zhang

The students were among around 16,000 students recognized as semifinalists in the national competition in September. About 90 percent of the semifinalists reached finalist standing, and about half of the finalists will be selected as Merit Scholarship winners, earning the Merit Scholar title.

All finalists must: have a record of high academic performance; be endorsed and recommended by their school principal; and earn SAT scores that confirm their earlier PSAT performance.